Today’s Achievements

I did 2 things today that I wouldn’t have done normally & I admit, I feel a small sense of achivement, as they are 2 things that previously my OCD would have stopped me from doing.

Firstly, we had an ice-cream tasting at work. Everyone in the office knows I have a sweet tooth and I was clearly very excited about the tasting. Last time we had a number of flavours and could have a whole pot to ourselves. Some people shared, if they wanted. Today, as I gathered round with everyone else, my heart sank to see 12 small pots of varying flavours, but all had been tried! Everyone was waiting for me to tuck in for my ‘expert’ opinion. So, in I went. I avoided the ones that had been eaten a lot, and focussed on those with patches that hadn’t been touched. I know technically any germs could be all over the pot, but I did it anyway. Then pots were being passed around more and people were even swapping spoons and cleaning out the pots.

Secondly, I had a small pot of chocolate sponge for pudding. When I took the film off the top, it came off too easily and before I had absolutely double checked that it was properly sealed. I decided that as it was only a tiny bit that would have been unsealed & I was going to put it in the microwave at full power, I would eat it – and I did.

Yes, I am slightly freaking out about both of the above, but there’s an overriding sense of pride. I’m glad I was able to do both of these scary things today. I know I’ll have bad days when I won’t be able to, but one day at a time. It was nice to be in the middle of a group and doing something everyone else was; something ‘normal’.

Ice-cream-tubs-001

2 comments on “Today’s Achievements

  1. I can well relate to the issue about the film lid not being on properly. I check everything I buy in the supermarket, before I put it into my basket, and get very anxious about eating something if I later find the lid is slightly open or comes off too easily. Like you, though, I figure that a microwave will kill off most bugs! I’ve ‘risked’ it a couple of times with no untoward consequences, but it’s not easy, is it?

Leave a Reply

